Introducing…Cooking with Colin

1 Oct

I know, I’ve been, slack.  But it’s not because I’ve been lazy, I promise. In fact, Colin and I have been doing something that’s pretty friggen cool, and I don’t use words like friggen lightly!

As you all know, my Colin is pretty much the neatest kid on the planet, pretty much just as neat as Evan (and coincidentally, likely as neat as all your kids).  But while Evan has been golfing in Districts, going to auditions, and pretty much rocking out his 11-year old self, my Colin…oh my sweet Colin, his little self-esteem has taken a beating. 

I finally decided, after the whole Cowboy Kent incident, that I needed to embrace his love of cooking, especially since, I’ve noticed that he’s really quite bashful about it and downplays it to most people.  People will say, “Colin, I hear you’re quite the chef.”  And he’ll say, “Nah, I ain’t dat good.”  I’ll say, “Colin, are you crazy! You’re great! You’re the best nine-year old cook there ever was!”  He’ll say, “Stop it mom, no I ain’t!  (He seriously talks like this, and excuse me if I don’t correct him. Call Community Services. I dare you!!)  

I didn’t like how he was downplaying the coolness of it all, and thought, Colin, you can’t be ashamed of this, embrace this.  I thought, how better to embrace it than by creating his very own cookbook?  And how else to market his cookbook than with a website? Of course, protected from all those weirdos. I thought, this might get Colin to believe in his abilities.

Only two problems.  I am no techi, and I don’t design books.

But here’s the thing: You can learn almost anything from the world wide web (as my mother calls it).  And because I wanted to learn how to design my own book, I took a 4-week course and it was awesome!

Colin’s cookbook was my first little assignment and, while not perfect, I worked on it with him, so it actually was kinda perfect!  The best part was, when he held his very first book, his eyes lit up, and he said, “Can I send one to Chef Kent, ‘wike’ he sent me one of his?”

I said, “Sure Colin, you can send one to whoever you want!”

Then as a true author, he looked through his recipes, his ice cream cake, the fish and chip wrap, and then he got to the hamburger poutine and he said, “Dat wasn’t dat good.”

Aren’t we all our own worst critic?

Colin, who finds math a challenge, did the math.  We took his expected earnings minus the costs to print and he got it, which is sort of the point of math.  He said, “I might be able to buy a new scooter, but I don’t think I’ll sell dat many. It ain’t dat good.”

I don’t ask for much from you, but please help me prove him wrong!

To order your copy go here. 


3 Responses to “Introducing…Cooking with Colin”

  1. SuzR October 4, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    Hooray!!!! I was hoping I would soon see a cook book from your little chef. So cool!!! Can’t wait to get one!

  2. Sunshower Rose March 20, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Hey! Nice caricature of Colin on the cover of his coooooool cookbook!
    I’d sure like a chance to talk with you and Colin!

  3. サングラスレイバン April 6, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Pretty portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your feeds or even I success you get admission to consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

