Hard Times Come Again No More

14 Sep

I was camping at The Ovens this summer with my Sister and our boys. We had eaten dinner in their restaurant (fabulous by the way) and then roasted marshmallows at our campsite.  The boys were playing Bingo and we were chatting over beers, when I heard live music at the Miner Diner, the restaurant where we had eaten only an hour or so before.  I’m a sucker for live music.  

I walked over and peered through the screen door and listened to the lyrics of the song that the man sang while playing a steal guitar.  The sounds of that guitar, the appearance of the man who somewhat resembled Willy Nelson, along with the lyrics to the song he sang, struck me.

As we pause in life’s pleasures and count its many tears
Let us all taste the hungers of the poor.
There’s a song that will linger forever in our ears:
Hard times, come again no more.

As we seek mirth, and beauty, and music light and gay
There are frail forms fainting at the door.
Though their voices are silent, their pleading looks will say:
Hard times, come again no more.

It’s a song that the wind blows across the troubled wave.
It’s a cry that is heard along the shore.
It’s the words that are whispered beside the lowly grave
When hard times will come again no more.

It’s a song and a sigh of the weary.
Hard times, hard times, come again no more.
Many days you have lingered around my cabin door.
Hard times, come again no more.

I stood at the door watching this man play for a captive audience and I couldn’t help but think of my dad as he sang that song.

Tonight I think of the song again, and I think of my dad who died September 13th one year ago.

Indeed, hard times come again no more.

Lyrics written by Stephen Foster

Music performed by Scott Ainslie, do yourself a favor and click here and hear the sample on the bottom right of the page.  I’ve since purchased the CD. It’s amazing.

One Response to “Hard Times Come Again No More”

  1. Pam D. September 14, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Tina – this is a great picture of your dad. I am walking through these emotions with you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

