1/7th Vegan

9 Sep

Have you ever seen a picture of yourself and thought, “I’ve got the lay off the beer?”  Well, that’s me, usually at the end of every summer.  And it was certainly me recently, when I downloaded pictures off my sons phone.

This is me, doing an on-line course I was doing this summer, and it was the most fun course I had ever done, mostly because I participated in the webinars, poolside, while drinking beer.

I mean, that’s my kind of course.

Anyway, now that summer is over and I’ve settled down to do more blogging, I’m looking at all the pictures realizing that I have to make some small changes, one of those changes is illuminating my daily beer habit. Not that I drink a lot, but during the summer, I have at least one a day.

Another thing: meat. This summer, I must have eaten a cow.  I mean, every day it was barbecued something, and while, I love meat, and I’m not going to apologize to anyone for that, I decided to give my intestines a bit of a break.

Once a week, we’re going vegan. Who can’t go meatless for just one day?  Surely we can.  Just do me a favor, and don’t tell my husband.

All you vegans are probably rolling your eyes (Gail Crosier, I can see you now…sigh).  But 1/7th vegan is a start.

This idea came in the spring when we had a vegan potluck at work in honour of Carolyn who is vegan but can never enjoy any of our delicious potlucks.  The food was out. of. this. world.

We all agreed that this was our best potluck yet, and we can do a potluck!

Here is the recipe for my roasted potato and pine-nut salad.  

Bag of mini new potatoes sliced in half, tossed in olive oil and roasted

1 jar of roasted red peppers, sliced

1 yellow pepper roasted and sliced

1 sliced zucchini roasted

12 olived slices

a bed of greens

1 cup of pine nuts toasted

Dressing

1/4 cup olive oil

1/8th cup rice wine vinegar

1 Tbsp maple syrup

1 Tbsp dijon mustard

1/2 tsp grated garlic

salt and pepper

2 Responses to “1/7th Vegan”

  1. Carolyn September 10, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Some lovely happy piccies of you Tina! The pot luck was yummy and I remember eating a ton of the food you made above! A meatless day once a week is such a great idea! PS I want that chair you are sitting on!!!

  2. raspberryink October 3, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    That looks soooo good!
    I agree with Carolyn, a meatless day is a great way to increase your and your family’s veggie intake, and to introduce them to new things.

Leave a Reply

