You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.

30 May

I know this is melodramatic of me, but my Mac’s hard drive fried and for the past few days, I’ve been full of anxiety.  Will my photos be retreived?  What about all my documents?  And my book!?  That small document that encompasses everything I’ve learned in my life…I’ve not released it to the world or to you few who pop by and check in with me.  What is on my calendar for today?  Where am I suppose to be right now?  I know there’s something!  What about my e-mails? How will I ever communicate with people?  What will I do?

And I’m not even kidding. These are the thing I said to myself.

Have you ever found yourself in a panic, and you say a little prayer? You say, Dear God, if you do me this one favor and (insert favor here) I promise to go to church every Sunday, spread your message to the world, or become a devout Christian? I do that.  I do that a lot.  I’m sure He no longer believes me.

But I did this with my computer.  I said, Dear God, if Steve Jobbs is up there, would you patch me through to him? Thanks bud.

I continued.

Hey Steve. We miss you down here.  You made geeky super sexy.  Anyway, listen, I’m a pretty big  follower of yours. I have all your toys, I watched your Youtube Commencement speech, like, a dozen times.  I don’t even use the PC that’s in the rec room, I can’t stand it!  Anyway, my MacBook Pro needs your help.  See, I love it so much, I think I used it past it’s potential.  And now I need you to will your knowledge to the fine folks at Intelligent Choice Computers, because if it can’t get fixed, than I might die or at least I’d have to remember everything, and quite frankly, there is little chance of that happening.

I’m typing this on my MacBook Pro, with all the documents found.  And I’m relieved.

But before I got it back, I made a promise.  Yes, another one.  I said, if the things on my computer are that important, so important that I would mourn them if they went missing, than I would do something with them.

Usually I find myself lying to God, but I’m not sure I can do that to Steve.  See, God expects that of me.  Steve, on the other hand, believes in me.

One Response to “You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.”

  1. joemocha May 30, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    …..I learned the hard way…then He lead me to Staples where I bought Me a 2TB external hard drive which automatically backs up daily……

Leave a Reply

