Just another hockey game…with cake

27 Mar

So, remember awhile back, I was all…complainy about Colin and the fact that he tapes, then un-tapes and then re-tapes his sticks like…a dozen times a day?

And I sort of surrendered to the hockey Gods and decided that picking up balled-up, used hockey tapes was far better than picking up roach-clips from dope smoking, and I’d be ok with this little obsession.

Then, I noticed there was bits of candle wax all over the house and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out where it was coming from because my beautiful ivory candles were in perfect condition, right there where I left them.

Then, upon further inspection, I noticed that Colin cut the backs off all my candles and used that wax to wax his sticks. NO JOKE!

He said it’s the best hockey stick wax. Better than the wax we buy him specifically for hockey sticks.

Seriously.  I throw my hands up in the air sometimes, saying, hey…..

Then, his birthday, which rather snuck up on me on account of March Break and all, came and so half his friends didn’t get invites (I’m a bad mother) so I decided to embrace Colin’s gift of hockey stick taping, we decided it was totally appropriate to have a stick taping competition.

Colin came second.

And while they all play lots of hockey a couple of times a week, what do you suppose they wanted to do more than all my fun hockey stick taping tasks?

Play hockey.

I swear, I could have charged admission, that’s how intense the game was.

But, they did come in for cake.

And I gave Colin the candles after he blew them out to wax his stick.

3 Responses to “Just another hockey game…with cake”

  1. Suzanne March 27, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I now know where Colin gets his wearing “soft pants” obsession from!(Note the pic of the birthday cake!)

  2. Pam March 27, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Happy Birthday to Colin!

  3. herland1 March 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Oh Suz, that apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!!
    Thanks Pam!

Leave a Reply

