Ya gatta read this

20 Mar

S0, as you know, I’m a bit of a blog philanderer.  I read a lot of them, and for different reasons.

Over March Break, I was disturbed at just how much I read on-line, both e-books,blogs and websites, and how little I read an actual book.  Further to that, I noticed how much my kids read on-line, sure, with my supervision, but still.

Anyway, I packed up the kids and went immediately to Coles and we all picked out a book.

This is what I got, but it hasn’t happened yet.

Evan got the Hunger Games.

And he’s loving it, which is only slightly disturbing.

Colin got a book that was recommended to me by a friend.  We are reading it together and I LOVING IT!! Colin think’s it’s ok too, but he’ll like it soon because I said so.

It’s called The Unwanteds.

Basically, it’s about twin brothers, one who is considered a Wanted and goes to university.  The other is considered Unwanted because he’s arty, and I really hope that Colin doesn’t draw any parallels to his own life, because he is so wanted!

But this book, it’s really outstanding, and it brings home the point that I always try to beat into my kids (not beat literally).  We all have special talents.

Colin, while he struggles at school and Evan doesn’t, Colin can draw like no other 9 year old.  Plus, he’s been making mac and cheese from scratch for like…ever.  These are gifts that Evan doesn’t have.  And Evan, while he may not know how to use the stove, and he might not be the best drawer, he has other gifts and he appreciates these talents in Colin.

Now that I recommended a book and I feel all, academic, I feel that it’s ok to throw one of my favorite blogs at you.

This is Maria.  Book mark her!  She’s lovely and hilarious!  Her posts give great business advice, tips of marketing and even life and friendship.   And this is one of her best posts.  She’ll make you not feel sorry for yourself when Life Hands You A Sh*t Sandwich.  Because really, if you’re reading this, you’re not eating a sh*t sandwich.

Leave a Reply

