EVERY SINGLE KID AND PARENT SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE!

6 Mar

I watched the trailer for this movie and cried.  The trailer.  I felt, sad, sick, invigorated, moved, furious all at the same time. Oh- and I wanted to kick the snot of out a few kids after watching how they treated other kids, and I’m a nonviolent person, so to say that it hit a nerve is an understatement.

The only thing that would enrage me more than having a child that was being bullied, is if one of my own children was a bully.

We have got to wake up.  I honestly believe that parents have a clue of their children’s disposition when we’re not around.  We now if our daughter is a mean girl who picks on other girls.  We know if our son is a tough guy.  I’ve got to believe that if my son were the type to just randomly punch someone out of the blue, like what happened in this movie, that I’d know.  I have to believe that I’d do something about it.  And while I don’t want my children to be afraid of me, I think my children would afraid of how I would react to learn that they were’ being bullies.

I know how to stop this, and if it isn’t shaming the bullies, which hasn’t worked, then it’s shaming the parents.

I had a situation (very mild compared to some of you) where a kid was picking on my son.  He told me about it. We called his mother.  She was mortified!  She told her kid to stop.  He didn’t.  We called her again.  She was totally distrought, apologized profusely, even cried, we felt awful. Her son called us. He was scared. He apologized to us and to our son. They’ve been buddies ever since.  

Now, I know this is not the norm.  We happened to know the mother.  She’s a good mom.  She knew what it was like to have a son who was picked on.  If only every mother reacted like this. She was amazing.

But if parents were held accountable, that would fix the problem. And if that were my son, than that would mean me. That, and forcing them to go to this site and to watch this movie.
Hit play.

 

3 Responses to “EVERY SINGLE KID AND PARENT SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE!”

  1. Pam March 6, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Wow – I didn’t hear of this movie until now. This Trailer brought tears to my eyes too tina. I think this movie should be played in all schools for all kids to watch. My son, as you know, has been bullied and the success to having it stopped was an on going battle – and I was left with the thought of ‘who are we protecting?’ This would be a great movie for teachers, principals, parents, daycare providers…everyone. I agree with everything you have stated – parents know their childs personality, need to take control and wake up to the issue. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Suz March 6, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    YES TIna! Thanks for this. It should def. be seen in schools, at a parents night, in sports etc.I’ve seen bullying in the dressing room at hockey,(last year) I spoke to the kid (he didn’t think anyone heard him) and I didn’t have to say much to see him drop his head a bit shamefully…maybe because he got caught but hopefully because he realized he hurt the feelings of fellow team-mate trying to be ‘cool’ and ‘funny’. Now I am wishing I had told his Mom.

  3. Suzanne March 7, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Good for you Tina for: #1. taking your son seriously , #2. and addressing the issue. Too many adults tell children to “brush it off”. Children need to be reassured that there are trusting adults in their world who will listen and address their concern.

    And lets not forget all the adults who are out their bullying their co-workers, neighbours and families.

Leave a Reply

