A big heart

28 Feb

My husband is continuously surprising me.  No, not surprising me with flowers or with dinner on the table, but by showing me who he is, and even after almost 12 years of marriage, I still find myself occassionally shocked.

Several weeks ago, he came home with a package from the Heart and Stroke Foundation.  They roped him into He agreed to be a canvasser.  I stood there, silent for a few minutes, until I said, “I had no idea that this was a health issue that you felt so strongly about that you’d canvas.”  He laughed, and said, “There’s probably a lot you don’t know about me.”  I said, “Appearantly.  You don’t happen to have any wives and children out there that I don’t know about do you?”  He laughed.  I didn’t.

He explained that he was just doing our street and another, and that they needed volunteers.  I filled up with pride and told him so, but also wanted to make it clear that I was not going to be doing his canvasing for him:)

And as February, Heart and Stroke month, was nearing it’s end, I was starting to apply pressure.  “David, those house’s aren’t going to canvas themselves,” I said.  So tonight, he went out with his package of receipts, his Heart and Stroke pin and his big, beautiful smile, as he set out to canvas.

After several hours, I called him on his cell phone, worried that someone mistakenly took him for an intruder, or fearing that some women had her way with him.  Neither was true.  He arrived quite late and with donations from all but three houses.  He looked tired, drained even, but spent the next 45 minutes telling me about all the stories he heard.

“You could never do this, Tina, it’s too sad.”  He’d spent the night collecting money and listening to people talking about the loved ones they lost from heart attacks, too many cases of cancer, and even a lady who recently had a stroke.  He said there were some houses that he had a hard time leaving.

But he enjoyed himself.  He said he felt good.  He raised lots of money and a new appreciation for how alone people feel.

Make a donation to the Heart and Stroke Foundation here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

