Thirty-Six

23 Feb

While 10 years doesn’t seem like a long time, a lot has changed.  When I was 26, I was in my first year of marriage and I was pregnant with Evan.  I was happy, anxious, excited and nervous all at the same time.  Then, at 26, I couldn’t imagine what my life would turn out like.   The changes that I’ve experience, how much I’ve grown in ten years, it’s just unbelievable that my life is so full.

When I was 26 I worried about not have enough money in my bank account.  At 36, I worry more about not having enough RRSP contributions for retirement.

When I was 26, I thought about how my life was going to turn out. At 36 I think about how my kid’s lives’ are going to turn out

At 26 I wanted to wear shoes that made me look hot.  At 36 I want to wear shoes that don’t hurt.

At 26 I wore jeans that accentuated my butt. At 36 I wear jeans that don’t accentuate my muffin top.

At 26 I did lots of crunches to have strong abs.  Now, at 36, I concentrate more on the strength of my back.

When I was 26 I wanted breast implants.  At 36, I want a breast lift.

At 26, when in the sun, I wore SPF 8, which is far better than the baby oil I used when I was 16.  At 36, I wear SPF 50, and a hat.

At 26 my girlfriends and I would discuss the fancy restaurant we’d go to.  At 36, we plan the menu at our next dinner party.

At 26 the physique of a healthy man impressed me.  At 36, I’m impressed by really pretty paper.

At 26 I was obsessed with my weight.  At 36, I’m obsessed with my health.

At 26 I’d buy clothes that follow today’s trends.  At 36, I buy more classic clothes that will still be stylish next year.

At 26 I thought, wow, I made some questionable choices when I was younger.  Now, at 36, I say, “Yeah I did”, and then I high five myself!

At 26 I’d be at the top of a hill at Martoc thinking, “I might try the moguls this time.”  At 36 I’m at the top of a hill at Martoc thinking, “Does my insurance cover this?”

At 26, I’d buy two bottles of $10 wine.  At 36, I buy one bottle of $20 wine.

At 26 I believed I settled.  At 36, I can’t believe, with all the people in the world, how lucky was I that David chose me!

At 26 I preferred cheddar cheese to mozza  At 36, I prefer Brie to Camembert.

At 26, my goal was to have everything I wanted.  At 36, my goal is for my kids to have everything they need.

When I was 26 I dreaded getting older.  Now at 36, I hope I see older.

That’s a lot of change in 10 years.  You might argue that I’ve become a little more jaded.  Maybe more realistic.  Perhaps boring and sensible.  But I wouldn’t go back.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  Not one mistake, and there were many.  Everything I did brought me here, to where I’m 36 and incredibly happy.

4 Responses to “Thirty-Six”

  1. Joe Mocha February 25, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Tina,
    This is a really nice article. You should write a book.

  2. Vicki February 26, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Here Here! Well said Tina!!! Growing older is such a gift and with open eyes you can learn so much!! Imagine the things my 94 year old grandmother has learned in her lifetime!

  3. Sue February 27, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Nice article but i couldn’t help but think that I didn’t even begin to think about many of the things you mentioned until I hit fifty. Your article made me feel very young for my age! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gifts « herlanddotcom - March 1, 2012

    […] You read this post, thou some of you were confused, and weren’t’ sure if I was turning 36 or was having a nervous breakdown and was going to revert back into a 36 year old who just acted like she was still 26.  But no, I assure you, I in fact did turn 36. […]

Leave a Reply

