I don’t mine if Colin never says his r’s- sorry speech therapists.

13 Feb

Tonight I put my Colin to bed and we chatted for a few minutes.  This is the conversation that ensued.

Colin: Mamma, there are two gurls dat wike me at school.  What should I do?

Me: Well Colin, I think that, at 8 years old, you should just be friends with as many people as you can.  You don’t need to choose which one you want as a girlfriend. That’s just silly.

Colin: No Mom, I need to pick one.

Me: But why?  What’s the big deal?

Colin:  Cause I get to kiss dem.

Me: gulp. You get to kiss them?...at school?

Colin: Well…some day I will kiss dem.

Me: Well, I think that right now, you just might hurt someones feelings if you pick one, so lets just not pick anyone until you really really like someone.

Colin: Alwight, but they gonna be mad. I said I’d pick one tomowwow. 

Me: Well, Valentines Day is coming and you can pick every girl in your class on that day.  How about you sit tight until after Valentines Day?

Colin: Ok.  Hey Mamma…When Nadia got home from New Zealand and you saw her…did you cwy?

Me: No honey I didn’t cry.  We laughed and danced around like fools.  We were just so happy to be together again.

Colin: Do you think I’ll have fwiends wike dat when I get biggah?

Me:  Colin, I sure hope so.

Leave a Reply

