Meal planning- my new obsession

30 Jan

I know it sounds silly, but planning and preparing our meals for the week is my new goal, and when a good plan comes together, I feel very accomplished.

When our family eats real food, you can see a big difference from when we don’t.  We’re less hurried, we’re less cranky, things “move” better, if you know what I’m sayin’.  

My boys are happier, they’re full, They have seconds.

So this Sunday, I went to the grocery store on a mission to prepare our meals for the week. This way, I can throw the prepared meal in the oven, take the boys to hockey and/or basketball practice, then we can eat, and then I can help them with their heritage fair projects.

Have I ever told you my feelings on projects? Moving on.

This is the food I started with:

It cost less than $75. Really, $15 a meal isn’t bad, considering that I usually have to go to the grocery store every day and spend $35.   I also bought a lovely Pinot. And then I started cooking.

After just over 2 hours, a huge mess and a nice little buzz, I had the following meals prepared:

Sheppards Pie

Meat loaf and mashed potatoes

Unsloppy Joe’s and potatoes skins

Chicken enchiladas and salad

Chicken Pot Pie

I promise, recipes and pictures will come eventually.

I kinda think I’m on to something!

 

5 Responses to “Meal planning- my new obsession”

  1. Angie January 30, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    I love meal planning. It actually consumes me, my every thought … well, almost. I love to grocery shop and I love to cook. I don’t cook in advance, but do plan my meals for the week. Everything sounds amazing. Can’t wait to see the pics and get the recipes 🙂

  2. Suz January 31, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    I go in spurts with meal planning. But you are so right about feeling accomplished. When I serve chicken nuggets, KD and canned corn I feel like I am being lazy and not a great mom. (mind-you they love it) When I cook an ‘actual meal’ as my kids call it I feel good. My biggest hirtle is always ‘what to make’. If I don’t know ahead of time it usually means there is no time because everything is frozen, then I go to the quick and easy because there is homework, hockey, karate. Don’t even get me started on this damn Heritage fair progect. grrr. I gave it up to Danny and am taking on AJ’s science project on structures….sigh…Now, what will I make for dinner tonight…or should I say for the rest of the week! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration. You rock!

  3. Angela January 31, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    I’m an AWFUL meal planner. I’m in awe of those that do. “What are we having for supper tomorrow night?” “What are we having for supper tonight?” “I’ll have to run to the grocery store on the way home to pick something up for supper”

    To cook it all before hand is AMAZING.

  4. Jen January 31, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Meal planning is life changing! it saves you so much TIME….MONEY…PEACE OF MIND….should I go on…LOL! I am amazed with how busy families are these day, that more people don’t meal plan. Time to plan meals before you grocery shop: 30 minutes. Feeling from having your meals and planned…and maybe cooked!….for the week…PRICELESS.

  5. herland1 January 31, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    I’m so delighted to have a dialogue going about this. Honestly, the feeling I have right now, knowing that I have to get my boys to hockey practice tonight and not stress about dinner, I can’t tell you the peace of mind. Even thou I have meals in my fridge and freezer, I’m planning in my head for next week.

    Downside: I still have unwashed pots and pans in the sink from sunday night (true story). Oh well, can’t win en all!
    Thanks ladies!

Leave a Reply

