Mandatory Helmets

20 Jan

So while some may be hating this cold weather, it’s perfect for our rink.  In fact, in the four or so years that we’ve erected the rink every winter, this, I think, is the best ice we’ve had.  Thou it may be the shortest season.

And it’s a good thing.  I said to David just the other day, “Look, I know you love this, I know the kids love it, but I think this should be the last year for the rink.  It will freeze, then melt, freeze, then melt, and quite frankly, it’s a bit of a spectacle.

Nonsense, he says, the kids love it, and besides, you already lost all those trees you loved to make room for it.  

Yes, indeed I did.

The other night I was doing some work on the computer while the boys were suppose to be getting ready for bed.  I saw Colin sneaking out the door being every so sly.  I had no idea what he was doing, but whatever it was, he didn’t require my help, so I didn’t pay much attention.

After a few minutes of silence I started to hear a quiet “bang”.  Then another, then another.

There they were, on the rink.  They snuck out to play hockey.  I can certainly imagine sneaking out for worse things.  Hell, I did that myself.

I let them play until 10pm.  I mean, we won’t have the ice all that long.  And the only thing I got upset about was Evan breaking one of the two rules we have for the ice; the one is no checking, the other is never without a helmet.  He said, “But mom, I can’t fit the helmet over my hat, and my ears are freezing.”

Yeah, look closely, there’s his hat, to the right of him, on the ice.

One Response to “Mandatory Helmets”

  1. Suz January 20, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Love this Tina! So awesome. I agree with David, ya gotta keep it! It we had a flat enough spot in our yard we’d have one too…Hmmmm… maybe this spring we will do something about that:-)

Leave a Reply

