Love is everything.

11 Jan

I tend to cut off more than I can chew, but I think I need this.

In addition to our workplace wellness challenge at work (which is really awesome by the way, if you want to print the book here), I have taken on a bit of another challenge.  I have taken on…The Love Dare.

Now! Before we get all Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints up in here, let me explain.  I am a loving person.  We have a loving home.  But like most mothers, and like most wives, I fail. I have yelled at my kids.  I can nag my husband.  God, that was hard to admit.  Anyway, whenever I do either I feel guilty and then beat myself up about it.  I don’t know that I’m any different than any of you, I just wrote about it on my blog is all.

Well, I found this book only about a week after reading about Madonna Badger.  In case you didn’t read about it, she lost her parents and her 3 beautiful daughters in a house fire on Christmas morning, and I have thought about her everyday since I read about her.  Everyday.  I also think about their dad, Michael.  And I think about her boyfriend.  The anguish he must be feeling…

When I yell at my kids to pick up their stuff, I think, I bet Madonna would love for her kids to make a mess today.  When I’m huffing because my kids want another glass of water at bedtime I think, what Madonna wouldn’t give to do the same for her girls.  

When I read that, at the funeral, she gave a heartfelt eulogy and said, “In all the incomprehensible loss and chaos, all I can hang onto is that love is everything.”  Love is everything. To have that much grace and love.

So, I set out to find a bit more.  I mean, we can all use a bit more can’t we?

This book, The Love Dare, it’s very churchy and a little bit hooky, ok, a lot hooky.  I just don’t read those parts.  I just do the dares.  Everyday there’s a different challenge.  Todays dare was: don’t say anything negative.   I did have moments where I felt negativity creep in, but then I focused on the positive and it was a positively delightful day.  Sorry, that was hooky. 

The kids, they’re doing it with me. And David, well he’s always positive.

I’ll keep you posted on The Love Dare, but crazy as it sounds, it’s already working.

*If you want to make a donation to a charity in the name of the girls go here

2 Responses to “Love is everything.”

  1. Cheryl January 11, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I dare you to read the other stuff too… and I bet it won’t make you churchy 😉

    • herland1 January 11, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Lol. Yeah, I may have to. Thanks for the tip Cheryl:)

Leave a Reply

