No more waiting

9 Jan

Alright…

Let me tell you a little bit about resolutions…

My idea of a New Years Resolution, isn’t something that you do, it’s something that you don’t do.  I know, weird.  Maybe it’s just me.  But every new years, I make a resolution to stop doing something, like stop smoking, stop drinking, stop eating chocolate for breakfast.  Then every birthday, I resolve to do something. Like, this is the year I’m going to…finally finish that book, run for public office, solve all the worlds problems.  You get the idea.

This year, I made a resolution to stop waiting.  What the hell am I waiting for anyway?  So the waiting has stopped, the doing has begun.

One of the things I’ve stopped waiting to do is going to the doctor.  I’m not a big doctor person, I mean, I don’t go to them unless I really need one, or worse, after I really need one.  So I went to the doctor prior to Christmas because I was anticipating this resolution of stopping waiting and I wanted to be prepared.  I was not prepared for the results.

I got a call from the doctor that my blood results came back and they had to talk to me about my thyroid. Oh shit I thought! They’re going to tell me it’s over active and they’ll slow it down and then I’ll be unable to stay up until 2am and I’ll never get my laundry done. Double shit!

To my surprise and delight, I have an under active thyroid, so they were going to speed it up.  For real! I might stay up until 4am.  Just imagine all that I can spray paint now!

Friends at work were in disbelief when I came back to the office with my prescription.  Tina on drugs, they said.  Are you sure they didn’t mess it up?  You just got FDA approved diet pills.  I’ll give you $100 for that prescription said another.

The day before I was to take my first upper I was so excited, it was like it was Christmas!  I took my meds waiting for magic to happen.  I waited.  I waited.  I waited some more.  Then it happened. A stomach ache so painful that, no wonder it was supposedly a diet pill, how can people eat on these things, I thought.  I couldn’t take anymore.  It was just to much.

See, I’m not a pill popper.  I have an Advil every once in a while and thats about it.  I just don’t think my stomach could handle it.

But I have to give it 30 days.  30 days of a stomach ache and a delightful buzz of energy that makes it all worth it.

4 Responses to “No more waiting”

  1. AJ January 10, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    Out of curiousity did you take it on a empty stomach? Always take with food if you are suppose too. But good for you, we all take our health for granted and we shouldn’t.

    • herland1 January 10, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      I did AJ, but I was told to. Maybe I’ll try it with food.
      Thanks!!

  2. Suz January 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    So Tina, does this mean you will be able to ditch the diet…that you don’t need anyway:-) Either way I hope the pills work for you. Good for you for getting yourself to the doctor in the first place! As for the ‘no more waiting’ resolution…does that apply to kids as well…sigh:-)

    • herland1 January 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

      Actually suz, I’m still gonna have to put in sweat equity. I don’t buy into quick fixes anyway. I’m more excited about the energy:)

Leave a Reply

