Since when do 10 year olds call the shots?

5 Jan

So my 10 year old won’t wear winter boots.  Turns out that, while they’re warm, and Adidas so uncheap, they’re totally uncool!  He also didn’t even wear the hat and mittens I packed in his bag.  It was freezing outside…and there he would be…freezing…and I’d be all…appearing to be unfit.

So I did the only thing I could do.  Nothing. Fine. Wear your sneakers.  Freeze.  I don’t care.  I’ll be warm in my boots. 

But I did care.  I thought of him freezing all day long.

And then there’s Colin.  Agreeable Colin.  As long as I don’t force him to wear jeans and keep buying elastic waist pants that feel like pyjamas, he’s a happy kid.

One Response to “Since when do 10 year olds call the shots?”

  1. Suz January 5, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    I hear that Tina. They both went out the door today in sneakers and now I am watching the snow fall and know it is almost recess time…sigh…at least they have their hats and mitts…small victory.

Leave a Reply

