They will get it eventually, I think

31 Dec

So, I know they don’t get it.  I know they won’t for a while, and maybe never for that matter.  But I made something for my boys and my nephew out of my fathers old jacket.  It was a jacket that he wore at funerals and functions where he had to dress up, so, whenever he was incredibly uncomfortable and out of his element.  One might think that it’s kind of odd to make something for my boys out of something that my father didn’t like.  Not so.  In fact, like I always tell my boys, just because you don’t like doing something doesn’t mean you don’t do it.

My sister-in-law had these memory bears made out of my late mother-in-laws wedding dress.  How lovely, right?  And I thought of doing something similar with my fathers tweed jacket, but then I saw these splendid leather buttons.

They’d be perfect, I thought, for cuff-links.

They opened them together on Boxing Day, and they were all equally disappointed to see buttons, until I explained that they were cuff-links made from grampy’s jacket and then there were slightly less disappointed.

Colin and Ryan weren’t sure what cuff-links were, but Evan, well, he knew.

One Response to “They will get it eventually, I think”

  1. Suz January 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Awww Tina, That is so special..That is something they will cherish.

Leave a Reply

