An Icy Treat

22 Dec

I gave my boys the task of coming up with a gift that they created, or, at least had a hand in creating.  It’s been a whole lot of fun.  Evan, my techno wizard, downloaded and burned his favourite holiday hits and new years eve dance tunes and burned one for all his classmates for the last day of school. I thought that was brilliant.  And, because we bought the music on iTunes, I don’t feel the least bit like he broke any laws.

Colin, my lover of food, gave all his buddies packages of hot chocolate.  He told me they loved them.  He knew because they all ate the hot chocolate crystals right out of the package with their fingers.

I’m sure the teachers love us!

And then, we also made something that we love eating!! You know those Treatza Pizzas at Dairy Queen?  Well, I think they’re 9 bucks, and you can feel 8 kids ice cream.  It’s come in handy since getting the Sienna and I lug up to 7 kids to soccer.

So this year, we decided to make them.

I took a box of brownie mix, and divided it between 4 disposable cake pans from the Dollar Store.

Then, I topped it with home made ice cream (2 cups of whipping cream, whipped to stiff peaks, fold in 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 1 can of sweetened condensed milk).

Then I plunked them in the freezer.  Once frozen, I gave them to the kids with M&M’s, caramel and chocolate sauce and told them to go crazy.

Evan’s looks like a work of art, while Colin’s friends will be going into diabetic shock.

Then I decided to make one for my friends at work, but a more sophisticated version if you will.

I started with a gingerbread base, then topped with the caramel and chocolate, but I omitted the M&M’s and went with pecans.  I also added After Eights, though to make it again I’d delete those.

Note to self: Gingerbread and mint isn’t such a combo

Leave a Reply

