A deliciously simple gift

14 Dec

We eat a lot of Smuckers Jam in the Hennigar house.  I mean, scary lots!  Some day I’ll post about David’s famous PB&J sandwiches, that are so crazy, that, in our house my kids won’t let me make them, that’s how much jam he puts on them.  Plus, he uses white bread.  I don’t have a prayer with my lame PB&J sandwiches on whole wheat.

Anyway, my mother always confiscated all my Smuckers jars and give them to my Aunt Linda who used to bottle her homemade jam in them.  Then, sadly she passed away.  No more home made jar, no more use for all my jars.  They’ve been piling up.

Fortunately, you know how I love jars, and how I love giving home made gifts.  So in less than 15 minutes, I made a really sweet and delicious gift that any family would love to receive.

I made a Sundae Sock, and this is how:

I put 2 cups of chocolate chips in a double boiler, and in a separate sauce pan I added 1 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of water.

I let them go.

Once the chocolate is melted, I added 1/2 cup of whipping cream and a splash of vanilla.  Boom- Chocolate sauce- done.

The sugar mixture has to boil more.

Until it looks like this and smells nutty, remove from heat, add 1/4 cup of cream and stir.

Stir until it’s smooth. Add a pinch of salt and splash of vanilla. Boom- Carmel sauce- done.

Then add maraschino cherries and chopped salted nuts to a jar.

Add all the jars to a sock, preferably a clean one, in fact, you might want to go out and buy a new pair.  You can either make 2 Sundae socks from the pair or you can roll up one sock and stick it in the other toe of the sock before adding the jars, and a lucky friend can enjoy an ice-cream sundae while wearing warm comfy socks.

I’m not sure it could get any better than that!

Leave a Reply

