The best darn pot roast EVER

4 Dec

So listen, I’m no chef, I’m barely a cook, but there are a few things that I’ve made so many times that I have near perfected them, and pot roast is one of them.  I know I make a good pot roast when my boys are asking me to make it.  My recipe, which is more of a technique, is incredibly simple, but the steps are mandatory for it to be good.  And here they are:

Chop up a ton of vegetables, 1 onion, 2 stocks of celery, 1 carrot per person, 1 potato per person (but I always throw in a few more carrots and potatoes for left overs), 1 turnip and 1/2 a head of cabbage.

Then I get my meat.  I remove as much fat as I can, and dry it off with a paper towel.  With too much liquid it won’t sear, it will just steam.  Then I season it well with salt and pepper.

Add some olive oil and the meat to a very hot pan.

I mean ALL sides!  And not until they are grey, you want them brown, Dark brown is even better!

Now, don’t you go and do something silly like wash out that pan, you’re going to use it for the gravy.

Add it to a roasting pan or dish and top it with all the vegetables.

Top it with 3 cups of beef broth and 1 tablespoon of grainy mustard, horseradish, soya sauce and 2 bay leaves.

Roast it in a 275 degree over for about 2 1/2 hours, until it looks like this:

Remove the liquid from the dish back to the searing pan.  Add 1 cup of beef broth that has 1/4 cup of all purpose flour added to it.  Add to the pan and turn up the heat.  Stir it, lifting up all the bits from the pan until it has thickened.  Add the gravy to your dinner.

Now, for the magic.  Because you’ll have too much, take one of these take out containers from the dollar store and add some of the meal to it.  Add some of the gravy to a mason jar.  Now, take that to someone who lives alone and has no need to make a huge roast for themselves.  In my case, I took this to my mother.

Your belly and your heart will feel full.

2 Responses to “The best darn pot roast EVER”

  1. Suz December 5, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    You have the best heart! Your pot roast looks amazing.xo

  2. Jen December 11, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Making this for supper. Smells good!

Leave a Reply

