Who doesn’t have blown-out Christmas light bulbs?

27 Nov

Every once  in awhile, someone will bring something into the staffroom at Lighthouse with a note attached that says “free” or “help yourself”,  and almost always, I take said thing and try and figure out what I can do with it.  Then, the person who left it behind will say, “What in the hell are you ever going to do with that?”  Or they say, “Be honest Tina, you’re really just one of those Hoarders, and I’ll be watching A&E one day, and I’m going to see that thing covered in mouse poop.

Not so.

When I scored dozens and dozens of blown-out Christmas lights, I knew just what I’d do with them, and off to the dollar store I went to buy glitter, because, well, glitter makes ever day better.

I poured myself a glass of wine, and used an old make-up brush to cover each bulb with glue…

then I covered each with glitter.

Warning: do not to this on…say… a dinner plate, as I have here.  Really, nothing that will have food on it or go in your dishwasher, because you’ll have glitter in in your dinner.  In fact, I’d be lying if I said this wasn’t messy, but it was worth it.

When you put the colours together they are lovely.  I did consider painting the part that screws in, because that looks a little nasty, but actually I quite like that it looks recycled.

I’m putting these in the powder room.  I love having something in there that’s interesting and people will come out of it after they’ve peed and say, “That is so cool, what you did with those Christmas bulbs.”

That is, right after they see my meds in my medicine cabinet.

 

 

5 Responses to “Who doesn’t have blown-out Christmas light bulbs?”

  1. Pam November 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    What a brilliant idea Tina! Love this. I’m trying to picture what bathroom those are in – has it been THAT long since I visited?

  2. Stacey November 28, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Crap! I just threw all those “older” lights out! I don’t like to say old cause one day that’s what will be said about me! 🙂 As always, an innovative and beautiful idea ala Tina! Keep ’em coming ….

  3. Suz November 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    So pretty. Love this idea. I have buckets of glitter…now I am wishing I hadn’t exchanged my old lights last year.:-)

  4. Katelyn November 29, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I love this! It’s so cute! Did you submit it to “Deck The Blogs?” I didn’t see it on the page, but noticed you added the button to this post… Just wanted to make sure you enter in! :=)

    -Katelyn from http://www.ninthandbird.com

    • herland1 November 30, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks for setting me straight. I thought I submitted, clearly I did not. Anyway, I think I fixed it. Love your blog Katelyn!

Leave a Reply

