Chilli Buffet

25 Nov

After the recent snow storm I knew it would be insanely busy at County Collision, AKA Man-land, where David works.  I knew that there’d be lots of little fender benders and David’s crew of faithful technicians would be flat out.  So I did what I do every few months, I tell David to tell the fellas to not pack a lunch.  I’ve made them donairs once, even pulled pork, and this stormy night, I was making chilli with all the fixins’.

My chilli recipe, while maybe not authentic to Mexico, is pretty good and super simple.  But a good chilli, in my opinion, is all about the toppings.

I put diced black olives, guacamole, sour cream, cheese, lettuce, even mushrooms in containers for each one to add to their own chilli, and chips and rolls.   I didn’t add mushrooms to the chilli because David doesn’t like them.  It’s his only bad quality (but it’s sometimes unbearable.)

Then I packed everything up  so David could take it with him.  There.  Now I would just wait for everyone to compliment me on my attention to detail.

When I got home from work I asked how it went, he said it was very busy day and they liked their chilli.

Oh terrific, I said gleefully, and opened the fridge to pour myself a celebratory glass of wine when what do I see in the fridge but…all the containers that I lovingly packed with the exception of the cheese.

“David,” I said.  “Why didn’t you take all the stuff for the chilli?” I asked half irritated.

“Because, Tina, we’re redneck men.  We don’t care about that stuff.”

Did you know this about them? Apparently, they don’t care about details.

______________________________________

Weeknight Chili 

1 pound of ground beef

1 diced spanish onion

2 stalks of celery diced

1 clove garlic diced

1 TBSP Olive oil

1 TBSP finely diced jalapeño pepper

2 cans of diced tomatoes

1 can of drained rinsed red kidney beans and navy beans

I jar of medium salsa

2 TBSP chilli powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 TBSP cumin

1 tsp salt and pepper

Saute onions and celery and garlic in oil until opaque, add meat and brown.  Drain any fat.   Add the remaining ingredients and simmer for 1 hour.

Serve with all the fix ins unless you are a neanderthal.

2 Responses to “Chilli Buffet”

  1. Jen November 25, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Even redneck men would have gone for the sour cream! All your fixins look lovely….and if this would have been for a group of ladies, there would be sufficient Ooohhh-ing, and Ahhhhing. 🙂

  2. Suz November 25, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Aw Man…Wish I had read this last night. We had chili for supper,’red neck man chili’. I’m thinking I can still ‘Tina-fy’ the leftovers with some of your fixin’ ideas. esp the olives. I guess I’m lucky I can add my mushrooms to the pot. YUM!

Leave a Reply

