A tea-riffic advent

23 Nov

I really hate chocolate advent calendars.  I can go a whole week not open a window and then spend one night watching a movie and open all of them.  Then, the kids wake up thinking it’s Christmas Eve.  Plus, it’s usually grouse chocolate.  I mean, think about it; it’s that cheap, waxy, milk chocolate that they’ve moulded into geese-a-laying.

So this year, me and the spare tire around my waist have taken a shining to green and chai tea, and that is how I’m going to celebrate advent.

With a wire ring, 24 clothes-pins, sticky numbers and various tea bag packages, I’ll be somewhat surprised and most certainly relaxed everyday.

It’s hung on my tea cupboard with a brown ribbon, thou the same thing could be done with almost anything else.

But when my son, Evan, suggested cash he was met with a disapproving look.

4 Responses to “A tea-riffic advent”

  1. Suz November 23, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Great idea Tina. I’m with you about those chocolate calendars. The little boys love them but for me its just not worth it to sacrifice any Weight Watchers points on bad chocolate…Now if Lindt made one…Mmmmmm. But I could definetly do the tea one:-)

  2. Elisabeth November 23, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Lindt does make one, fyi! It’s the only advent calendar I’ll allow in the house. (Love the tea idea, though… perfect for the season!)

    • Suz November 25, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      They do?! Thanks Elisabeth! I am officially on the hunt! Once I find one and bring it home the hard part will be to ensure I am the only one who is allowed to eat from it. 🙂

  3. Christine November 24, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Laura Secord makes a good chocolate Advent calendar also… when my son was little he enjoyed the Lego advent calender – each day a different piece of lego, they use to have ‘girl lego’ but you can only buy that in the USA.

Leave a Reply

